RSS

When I Grow Up

24 Jun

When I grow up. I want to be a World of Warcraft Level Designer for Blizzard Entertainment. Shoot for the skies right?

But why a level designer? Well, it gives context to game play, is visually engaging, it creates a navigable areas, it can guide player’s attention, amaze people, the list goes on and on. But, most importantly, it’s an area that allows all of the game play elements to come together.

It has one limitation. Creativity. A level can’t be what isn’t imagined. Besides, look at the possibilities.

But one more reason why I want to be a level designer?

I love it.

I’ve had a taste of level design from time to time. Previously, and a long time ago now, using the Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne map editor

Portal 2: Test Chambers Creator

Unity’s Terrain editor

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I crave it. It’s the one thing that I constantly want to do. I’ve come to appreciate and highly respect level design. It’s beautiful, it’s art. From the floating ashes of flame to perfectly flowing hills, my is focus is dedicated to creating that jaw-dropping wave disbelief.

Some of the designers I’ll be keeping a close eye to are: Chris Robinson, Ely Cannon, Victor Chong, Ian Gerdes, Edward (Ed) Hanes, Kevin Lee, Damarcus Holbrook, Michael McInerney and Paul Cazarez.

Until next time –

FeenikxFire

Nic

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 24, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
