RSS

Your Income & Your Art

22 Feb

Hello Bruce

I’ve recently filled in a little survey relating to my position in the games development industry. It asked questions like “Where do you think your main source of income will be?” or “How can you make a living while making creative projects?”, “How are you going to get there?”, along with more industry related questions.

6 out of the 7 questions I answered.

“I don’t know.”

It was the first time that I had been asked important questions like this. It was the first time I had to come up with a realistic answer to real life industry situations.

Patrick UhhhPatrick thinking

Although it was terrifying to think of, I know that’s exactly why I’m being asked these questions. To get me to think about the important factors, about making decisions on where I want to go and how I am going to get there.


 

Your Income & Your Art.

“I make art and stuff, right?”

Not painting art, but GAMES art. (Please don’t scrunch your face up like that because I said games are art). Sure I’m not making a living off my university projects, but if I was, and it was enough income to support me and enable me to make a living, why am I at university? So, this leads me to seriously look at career path choices.

Will I try to start my own company?

Make a game and try live off consumer sales?

Be an independent creative and earn an income from the sales of projects?

 Also raising the question will I have a day job whilst trying to make my own projects to create a form of income? Hopefully any new creations that I throw out into the games industry does better than my first ever 3D unity project (which was an assessment for one of my scripting classes). It’s free to download and play, but down loaders could make a 50¢ contribution. It isn’t doing so well, YET. I’m pretty sure that 6/9 downloads were by me trying to see if I’ve uploaded it correctly, and 2/9 were fellow uni students that I got to show. Which means that 1 person out of the current 7.4 billion people on planet earth took the time to download my game!

Explosive Pinball Analytics

Great Success

While this is a great possibility for a career path, it is not one that I will be pursuing immediately after i graduate.

My plan at this point is to become an employee. While the Australian games development industry isn’t booming right now, what’s to say its not going to in the next few years? There are still jobs postings for games development in Australia on sites like Seek, AdzunaLinkedIn and a few internships. Depending on what changes are to come over the period of the next few years, being an employee might not be what my heart desires.

DSC_0104

During the holiday break between the end of last trimester and this trimester I stumbled upon a magical opportunity. It was an internship position at, let’s say, one of the most well know games development companies (and it’s not based in Aus). Usually a significant company like this has rather high specific requirements that I only dream of meeting one day. But, I met all of the requirements for this particular internship. Sure, a trillion people are going to apply for this, myself included, but what if I was the one they chose to take on board? Do they realize the paramount affect that they would have on my career? Or me as a person? It would completely bolster my experience and skills as a games developer. Even so, if this particular opportunity doesn’t work in my favour, it’s nice to know that I am already trying.

I know that I want to be an employee for a development company to get some industry experience first. Even if it means that moving states or countries. By constantly keeping an eye out for opportunities and trying reach my goal, I know I’ll get there.

Until next time –

FeenikxFire

Nic

 

Information source:

Rowntree, Winston. “5 Things Video Games Do Better Than Any Other Forms Of Art”. Cracked.com. N.p., 2013. Web. 22 Feb. 2016, from http://www.cracked.com/blog/5-things-video-games-do-better-than-any-other-forms-art/

Tsumea.com,. (2013). Australian Bureau of Statistics say local games development sector is at 581 people | tsumea. Retrieved 22 February 2016, from http://www.tsumea.com/news/180613/australian-bureau-of-statistics-say-local-games-development-sector-is-at-581-people

 

Image source:

Finding Nemo Bruce Hello Gif. Retrieved from http://giphy.com/gifs/hello-followers-new-f9omLM0QmCJna

Patrick Uhhhh. Retrieved from http://www.ytv.com/blog/patricks-funniest-moments

Borat, Great Success. (2008). Retrieved from http://forum.klix.ba/champions-league-15-16-t136541.html

SAE Institute,. (2016). Internship posting’s. Retrieved from https://feenikxfire.wordpress.com/2016/02/22/ciu111-overview-of-industry-week-2-blog-1-your-income-your-art/

 

Video source:

The State of the Australian Gaming Industry. (2013). Retrieved from http://www.tsumea.com/news/180613/australian-bureau-of-statistics-say-local-games-development-sector-is-at-581-people

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Your Income & Your Art

Leave a Reply

 
